European Ceramic Context 2014

New Nature - Yesterday by Mia E. Göransson SE

National Commissioners

European Ceramic Context 2014 has appointed one National Commissioner in each of the 30 participating European countries. Tha National Commissioners will nominate artists in their relevant country to participation in the ECC2014 exhibitions. The national commissioners are invited to cooperate with ECC2014 because of their expertise and knowledge of contemporary European ceramics. They may come from various positions within the field of ceramics, this being museum curators, art critics, educators or freelance curators. The National Commissioners play a vital role in the profile and organization of European Ceramic Context. Their choices will outline the direction in which contemporary ceramics is going in their relevant country. They also undertake the important task of being the communication link between the participating artists and the secretariat of European Ceramic Context 2014.


Participation in the ECC2014 is only possible by nomination by the National Commissioners in the relevalt country. It is therefore not possible for individual artists to apply to ECC2014 for participation in the exhibitions. 

Austria / Rainald Franz / MAK - Österreichisches Museum für Angenwandte Kunst/Gegenwantskunst, Vienna

Belgium /
Anne Leclercq / WCC - World Crafts Council

/ Prof. Bozhidar Bonchev  / National Academy of Fine Arts in Sofia 

Cyprus /
 Vassos DemetriouCyprus Pottery - Ceramic Association

Czech Republic
/Milan Hlaves Museum of Decorative Arts in Prague

Denmark /
 Steen Ipsen / Copenhagen Ceramics

Estonia /
 Kai Lobjakas Estonian Museum of Applied Art and Design 

Finland /
 Jukka Savolainen / Design Museum Finland

France /
 Dale Dorosh / AiR-Vallauris

Germany /
Gudrun Schmidt-Esters Stiftung KERAMION

Greece /
Kostas Tarkassis Clayart International Magazine

/ János Probstner / International Ceramics Studio, Kecskemét 

Iceland /
 Brynhildur Pálsdóttir Myndlistaskólinn í Reykjavík

Ireland /
 Elaine Roirdan / Ceramics Ireland

Italy /
Claudia Casali / Museo Internazionale delle Ceramiche in Faenza

Latvia /
 Dace Lavina Museum of Decorative Art and Design Riga

Lithuania /
Raimonda Simanaitiene / Vytautas Magnus University - Facility of Arts

Luxembourg /
 Doris Becker / Independent artist and curator

Malta /
Mario Sammut / Independent artist and curator

The Netherlands / 
Liesbeth Den Besten / Think Tank

Norway /
Trude Gomnæs Ugelstad - Elisabeth Sørheim Norwegian Association for Arts and Crafts

Poland /
 Dorota Miłkowska / Academy of Art and Design in Wrocław

Portugal /
 José Manuel Couceiro Barosa Correia Frade - Fernando Carradas / Escola Superior de Artes e Design de Caldas da Rainha

Romania /
Simona Tánásescu / Romanian Government Department for Culture 

Slovakia / 
Stefan Orisko / Comenius University in Bratislava

Nadia Zgonik / The Academy of Fine Arts and Design of the University of Ljubljana

Spain / 
Antonio Vivas / Revista Ceramica

Sweden /
 Love Jönsson / Röhsska Museet 

Switzerland / 
Claire Maxwell / Musée de Design at D'art Appliqués Contemporains

United Kingdom / 
Felicity Aylieff / Royal College of Art